Broady Ostapenko Argumentative Essays

Naomi Broady became involved in a furious argument with her opponent as the British No 3’s surprise run continued into the quarter-finals of the ASB Classic in Auckland.

The 25-year-old from Stockport staged a remarkable comeback from 5-1 down in the third set to beat Jelena Ostapenko 4-6, 7-6, 7-5 in the second round.

After the match she called on the umpire to disqualify the Latvian after she threw her racket in disgust and it struck a ballboy. 

Naomi Broady was involved in a heated exchange with Jelena Ostapenko after her Auckland Classic victory

Broady angrily accused Ostapenko of deliberately throwing her racket towards a ball boy

The British star turns to celebrate her victory after blasting Ostapenko for throwing her racket

Qualifier Broady, due to face American Sloane Stephens on Thursday in her biggest match at this level, gave Ostapenko, 18, a send-off after shaking hands at the net.

‘You hit the ballboy with your racket,’ she shouted before going off to celebrate with the crowd.

Striking a ballkid in any manner, accidentally or not, usually results in a default, as Tim Henman famously discovered at Wimbledon in 1995. 


Broady later received support on social media from Judy Murray and fellow pros like France’s Kristina Mladenovic and Israeli Julia Glushko, who are clearly not fans of the Latvian’s behaviour.

Kyle Edmund is another surprise package coming through qualifying into the last eight of a main tour event, the Qatar Open. Last night he defeated Spain’s world No 75 Daniel Munoz de la Nava 5-7, 6-3, 7-6. 

Broady celebrates after reaching the quarter-finals of the ASB Classic in Auckland

Broady beat Ostapenko 4-6, 7-6, 7-5 in the second round in Auckland on Wednesday

It is the first time the 20-year-old from Yorkshire has made a quarter-final at this level and he will now face world No 6 Tomas Berdych.

Serena Williams yesterday pulled out of the Hopman Cup in Perth due to a recurrence of knee issues, casting doubt on her defence of the Australian Open title later this month.

That appeared a more serious development than Andy Murray’s 6-4, 7-6 defeat by Nick Kyrgios, which helped the Australia Green team defeat Great Britain 2-1 at the same event. Heather Watson beat world No 36 Daria Gavrilova 6-7, 6-2, 7-5 but in the deciding mixed doubles, with it gone midnight, the British pair went down 6-2, 6-7, 11-9.

It means that GB will have to beat Germany tomorrow to have a chance of reaching the final.

Since Murray is training hard during this event with an eye on Melbourne, his first ever defeat by the crowd-pleasing Kyrgios was not too much of a setback. His focus is to begin the Australian Open in prime physical shape.

Broady was unhappy that her opponent threw her racket in the direction of a ball boy

The British No 3 fought back from losing the first set and went all the way to a decider before winning

The comments below have not been moderated.

The views expressed in the contents above are those of our users and do not necessarily reflect the views of MailOnline.

We are no longer accepting comments on this article.

Share or comment on this article

Defiant Brit Naomi Broady stands by her call for the chair umpire to disqualify her opponent, following her controversial match with Jelena Ostapenko. 

Speaking to media after her tense win in the second round, the qualifier says replays back up her belief that Ostapenko intentionally threw her racket at a ball boy.

"I think it was quite clear that she threw her racket and it hit a ball kid, which should be straight disqualified," she said.

"I think on the replay it's quite clear it didn't slip from her hand."

Broady and Ostapenko had a fiery exchange at the net after the match, with Broady explaining she was unhappy at comments made to her by Ostapenko.

"Jelena commented that my behaviour was terrible, which I thought was a bit out of order considering the events that had gone on in the match," said Broady.

Naomi Broady, Britain, and Jelena Ostapenko, Latvia, exchange heated words at the net after their controversial clash at the ASB Classic. Broady won in three sets.

Source: Photosport

"I don't think I did anything disrespectful to her or anyone else on the court."

The drama began in the second set of their encounter on Centre court, where after losing a point in the tiebreaker, Ostapenko appears to toss her racket, which makes contact with a ball boy.

Broady furiously complained to the chair umpire that the action was intentional, stating "there's no way it was accidental."

Naomi Broady argues with chair umpire after her opponent Jelena Ostapenko received a warning for striking a ball boy with her racket during their second round match.

Source: Photosport

Ostapenko claims the racket slipped from her hand, while an emotional Broady calls for her opponent to be disqualified from the tournament. 

A WTA supervisor is called on court to sort out the incident, which results in Ostapenko being let off with a warning from the chair umpire.

Naomi Broady talks to a WTA supervisor on court during her controversial clash with Jelena Ostapenko at the ASB Classic.

Source: Photosport

Broady went on to win the tiebreaker 7-4 and saved a match point in the third set to win the controversial clash 4-6, 7-6, 7-5.

The World No. 122 took to twitter after the clash to explain her side of the story.

0 comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *